National Indigenous Music Awards 2016

Nominations open 28th April


NIMA 2016 Winners Announced

06 August 2016

Gurrumul reigned supreme again at this year’s NIMA taking out Artist of the Year for the fifth time. Newcomer and rapidly rising star Gawurra took home a swag of NIMA Awards winning New Talent of the Year,  Album, Cover Art and Film Clip of the year – the latter being presented by Jack…

~ read more

2016 NIMA Lineup in Full!

19 July 2016

The lineup of acts for the 2016 National Indigenous Music Awards have been announced! With this year’s theme being Protest Songs, this year’s performances will imbue the crowd with an emotional potency as songs both contemporary and iconic will be delivered by a diverse line-up.…

~ read more

NIMA Finalists announced

14 July 2016

Key announcements: NIMA Finalists announced FINAL Artist Announce today triple j Unearthed NIMA competition winner details The final artists to join the bill for NIMA 2016 are; Shellie Morris, Warren H. Williams with Danielle Young, punk rockers Lonely Boys and Yirrmal…

~ read more

First Artist Announce for NIMA 2016

28 June 2016

AB Original, Kahl Wallis, Emma Donovan, rising star Stanley “Gawurra” Gaykamangu and emerging artists Rayella, Chris Tamwoy and David Spry are the first names announced to perform at this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards. 2016 is a year of significant milestones for Indigenous…

~ read more

Nominations Open 2016

03 May 2016

2016 plays host to a swag of milestones for Indigenous people nation-wide; the 50th anniversary of the Wave Hill walk off, the 40th anniversary of the Land Rights Act, 30 years since the release of Yothu Yindi’s double platinum selling album Tribal Voice and 25 years since the iconic…

~ read more

2015 NIMA Winners Are….

22 July 2015

For the first time in NIMA history two artists were awarded the Artist of the Year prize; Jessica Mauboy and Dan Sultan.  An equal amount of votes came in from the voting panel for each artist and the decision was made to honor both parties with this prestigious national award. "What a…

~ read more

Finalists announced for 2015 NIMA’s

10 July 2015

Jessica Mauboy, Dan Sultan, maverick hip-hop artist Briggs and former triple j Unearthed NIMA winner Thelma Plum have been selected as Finalists in the category of Artist of the Year to be announced at this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards [NIMAs] on Saturday July 25th. Song of…

~ read more

triple j Unearthed winner - Zane Francis

08 July 2015

Congratulations to this year's triple j Unearthed winner Zane Francis. Zane Francis a young electronic/indie artist from Tweed Heads/Coolangatta. He follows in the footsteps of Thelma Plum, Robbie Miller and Philly to perfrom in Darwin at the NIMAs. “I never would've thought in a…

~ read more

Gurrumul to premiere songs from The Gospel Album at NIMAs

26 June 2015

The  organisers of the National Indigenous Music Awards [NIMAs] are thrilled to announce multi-award winning artist Gurrumul will join this year’s line-up and will premiere three songs from his highly anticipated forthcoming The Gospel Album.  The inspiration for this 12-song long player…

~ read more

Nominations are closed for 2015

22 June 2015

Thank you to everyone that nominated in the 2015 National Indigenous Music Awards! We received hundreds of nominations for Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, Song of the Year, New Talent, Film Clip of the Year, Cover Art of the Year, Community Music Project - Community Music Clip NT…

~ read more