National Indigenous Music Awards 2016

Nominations open 28th April


The 2016 NIMAs

AB Original, Kahl Wallis, Emma Donovan, rising star Stanley “Gawurra” Gaykamangu and emerging artists Rayella, Chris Tamwoy and David Spry are the first names announced to perform at this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards.

2016 is a year of significant milestones for Indigenous people including the 50th anniversary of the Wave Hill walk off, the 40th anniversary of the Land Rights Act, 30 years since the release of Yothu Yindi’s Tribal Voice and 25 years since Treaty raced to the top of the charts. You can be certain this year’s line up of artists will deliver potent performances featuring both iconic and contemporary protest songs.
“This year’s NIMA’s coinciding with these important anniversaries, will again shine a light on Indigenous music across the country. Music has stoked the fire and been a voice of protest for many years and what better way to recognize a year of milestones, than celebrating the strong history of Indigenous protest songs”, says Mark Smith - Executive Director of MusicNT & NIMAs.

Get tickets here: