The Board

Claire Kilgariff (Chairperson)

Born in Alice and arriving to Darwin as a young visual arts and music teacher, Claire has a deep belief in the arts as the foundation of an inclusive creative community.  She worked for many years as an arts educator and practitioner and have helped establish a number of key music organisations in Darwin. As the Artistic Director of Arafura Music Collective Claire is recognised in the arts sector as a highly accomplished musician, project manager and creative director. This is complemented by an extensive profile as an executive leader committed to creative and outcomes-led organisational leadership in the NT Public Service and Batchelor institute as Head of Creative Industries, Education, Health, Foundation Skills and Business.  In the role of Chairperson of MusicNT Claire remains passionate about live music and the contribution music makes to the NT as place of inclusivity, diversity, creativity and innovation.

Cain Gilmour (Vice Chairperson)

Cain is a composer, producer and instrumentalist who has lived and breathed music his whole life, picking up his first instrument at the age of six. Cain has a long history of supporting the Territory music scene and has made a huge impact as a supporter, educator, program developer, session musician and respected guitarist and producer. He is passionate about the development of opportunities for the NT music scene.Cain currently works as the VET lecturer in Music at Charles Darwin University and is an accomplished musician. He is involved with many different acts around the country including Catherine Satour, Heart Beat and Stab Capital, and is an experienced covers soloist.

James Gough (Public Officer / Treasurer)

James’ passion for live music fuels everything he does as the Founder/Director of NOOK Events & NOOK Backline. Established in 2011, NOOK is a leading live music company in the NT and works with many major event companies and touring artists. Originally from Hobart, James spent 5 years at advisory firm KPMG before moving to the Ten Days on the Island Festival as the Finance & Festival Administration Manager. During this time, he also toured nationally with two award-winning Tasmanian bands Fell To Erin and Waiter who took out Album of the Year in 2015 for their album Moving Objects. In 2009, James moved to moved to the Top End where NOOK was established along with his band Green Stone Garden. James is a graduate of RMIT’s Graduate Certificate of Business Administration and is currently completing his Master of Business Administration (MBA).

Bernadette Ryan (Secretary)

Bernadette Ryan, is the director of Bernadette Ryan Management (BRM), BRM is currently operating as a music & arts consultancy service.  With more than 25 years experience in the music business Bernadette's management clients have included many and varied artists including Daniel Merriweather, Saskwatch, The Harpoons, Architecture in Helsinki, DJ Dexter, The Avalanches, The Mavis's.  Bernadette began her career in music as a venue booker in Melbourne (Empress Hotel, Revolver Upstairs), it was at the Empress Hotel she met her first client, The Mavis's.  Over the years she has worked globally and seen great success.  In 2017 she relocated to Alice Springs and put management on hold while she settled into living in the Northern Territory. She became a board member of Music NT in 2019 to share her knowledge and experience.

Priscilla Collins

Priscilla (Cilla) is the CEO of the North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency – the largest legal service in the Northern Territory providing high-quality and culturally appropriate legal aid services for Indigenous people in the Top End. She is fully engaged in pursuing the rights of Indigenous people through law and policy reform. Cilla was featured in The Climb, a 2014 book by Geraldine Doogue on the top 14 women leaders in Australia. She was previously the CEO of the CAAMA Group, the largest Indigenous owned and operated multimedia organisation in Australia, and worked with the Australian Indigenous Communications Association in establishing the National Indigenous Television Service (NITV). She was also the Executive Producer and Creator of Double Trouble, the first Indigenous children’s television series produced for a commercial network (Channel 9 and Disney), which was nominated for an AFI in 2008 for Best Children’s Drama.

Scott H Welsh

Scott brings a dynamic production history with international and cross-cultural experience to the MusicNT Board. As a director, producer and filmmaker, Scott has travelled internationally, documenting and engaging with different cultures, including more than 20 years working with Indigenous communities in the NT. Scott has produced content for features, such as Yolngu Boy, and high-end music productions with the Yothu Yindi band, PJ Harvey and Andrea Bocelli. He has worked with the Discovery Channel, MTV UK-USA, BBC-World and National Geographic. He is also a nationally accredited mediator and qualified through the Department of Justice, AGD.

Andrew Giles

Andrew is a Senior Associate at the legal firm HWL Ebsworth in Darwin. Andrew's core areas of practice are banking and finance law, mergers and acquisitions, all aspects of property law, large scale construction and development projects, and governance and compliance work. Andrew holds multiple professional memberships and provides governance advice to numerous private companies, joint ventures, partnerships, associations, not-for-profit companies, regional indigenous corporations, and local government Councils. His experience in the entertainment and arts includes being a Director, shareholder and legal counsel for the Why Not Festival and operating a successful inner city bar and event facility.

Arian Pearson

Arian Pearson is a Yolŋu man from Yirrkala in North East Arnhem Land. He was a member of the Yolŋu rock band East Journey. He has successfully held the position as head director and studio engineer since Mulka Music commenced in 2015. Mulka is supported by the Cotton On Foundation and Mulka Music aims to help develop young artists through music. Besides his work at Mulka, Arian is the Chairman of Lirrwi Yolŋu Aboriginal Tourism Corporation, since 2018. Lirrwi Tourism works with Yolŋu Homelands to provide a visitor experience on country. In his role as a Chairman it is his responsibility to remain cultural integrity not only to the business but to the whole region.

Jeff McLaughlin

Jeffrey McLaughlin AKA Dr Flouride, came to the NT in 2005 as an entertainer / gardener at Renner Springs.  After 5 months Jeff purchased a mobile Pro-tools Recording rig & in November 2005 he walked into Barkly Regional Arts to do a 2-day recording workshop. It turned into a 15 year association with the Barkly. As maverick producer, engineer, multi-instrumentalist and music facilitator, he was the driving force behind the inception of the Winanjjikari Music Centre in Tennant Creek. He has worked with bands such as The Tjupi Band, Sammy Butcher,  The Sandridge Band, The Tableland Drifters, Iwantja,  Tjungu, Rayella and Lester Peterson. Jeffrey also writes and performs own music brought through his persona Dr Flouride.  In 2017 Jeffrey was elected as a member of the Barkly Regional Council where he has worked hard with his fellow councillors and Mayor setting up Australia’s first ever Regional Deal, the Barkly’s first Environment and Sustainability Committee and many other projects. Jeff brings a wealth of fun and awesomeness to the Music NT Board.